If you were a cowboy I would be
The prairie, ‘round you, unfolding.

If you were a piece of wood, then I would be a stone
A safer place, alone, for you to sleep.

If you were a sailboat I would sail with you
The gentle waves that vanish when you’ve passed.

If you were a river I would hold you,
Under my breast of silk and air.

If you were a house I would fill your windows
With days you’ve never lived before.

If you were a preacher then, in years
I’d slowly turn to be your sky.

Sometimes I believe in life,
But the chances made of strife,
Always seem to hold me down
You took a chance to be my king,
I took a chance to be your clown.

If I was in jail I know you’d hold me
Locked tight – the reaper and the gentle.
If I was a telephone you’d ring me
Once, wearing the ring to mark your heart.

If I was in pain I know you’d get me
The blood of stars and earth from hell,
Your breath upon a silver plate
And water from the world beyond.

Sometimes I believe in dreams,
But the morning coming seems
To bring me back each passing night.
You held your ring and mark’d your heart
I left it bleeding, out of sight.

If I was hungry you would feed me
The hardened crumbs of your soul.

If I was in darkness you would lead me
Through the valley, I shall not fear.

If I was a book I know you’d make of me
The hallowed pages of your faith.

If you were a cowboy I would be
The prairie, ‘round you, unfolding.

If you were a piece of wood, then I would be a stone
A safer place, alone, for you to sleep.

If you were a sailboat I would sail with you
The gentle waves that vanish when you’ve passed.

The gentle waves that vanish when you’ve passed.

The gentle waves that vanish when you’ve passed.